Ultracom NEXT - 14. Safety and wolf observations

With Ultracom Next you can invest in the safety of hunters and dogs. You can turn on the safety feature to share your location anonymously with other safety users within a 1,25-mile radius. You can turn on Safety for your dog, allowing your dog to appear anonymously to other users of the software within a 1,25-mile radius of your dog. Safety users are also visible to Tracker software users (seeing Dog Safety requires an active cross-tracking service).

 

User safety

Safety is switched on in the app settings (open the main menu and select settings). To show to other users, your phone's GPS must be turned on and your location recording must be turned on from the map screen. When safety is turned on, your location is shared anonymously within a 1,25-mile radius to other Safety users. Your real-time location will not be shared (your shared location has a small delay for other Safety users).

 

Dog safety and safety message

Dog safety is dog-specific and can be turned on from your own dog's profile (open the main menu, select your own dogs, and select your dog). When safety is turned on, your dog’s location is shared anonymously within a 1,25-mile radius to other Safety users. The real-time location will not be shared (dogs shared location has a small delay for other Safety users). 

 

When you turn on Safety, you can also attach a safety note to your dog. Tap "safety note", enter the desired note and select the note duration. Other safety users can tap your dog icon on the screen and see the set note.

 

Wolf safety (wolf observations)

Ultracom Next and Tracker users can add and see wolf observations added by other users. You can turn on the display of wolf observations in the program settings (open the main menu and select the settings). To see more information about a wolf observation, tap the sighting on the map and select the red-letter i.

 

You will see the nickname of the author of the observation and additional information that has been given to the observation. If you are close to the observation (within 1,25 miles), you can confirm the observation that has been made by another user.

 

To create a wolf observation yourself, you must be within 1,25 miles of the observation. Start by tapping on the plus sign at the bottom left of the map screen and select "Add wolf observation." Move the cursor to the observation and tap the plus sign in the center of the screen. Select and add additional information, such as the style of the observation (visual observation or trace), direction of travel, age, and enter an optional message. 

 

If you want to delete an entry, tap the entry on the map, select the red letter i and select "Delete entry". When the age of the observation is three days, the observation automatically disappears from the map. The age of the observation can also be seen directly on the map:

 

  • Red icon - the observation is 0-24 hours old.
  • Yellow icon - the observation is 24-48 hours old.
  • Gray icon - the observation is 48-72 hours old.

 

Please note that abuse of the wolf detection system will result in the termination of the user account.